Month: July 2008

Newtown juniors well represented in Bakker Squad

Newtown and Chilwell was well represented at the Geelong Cricket Club Bakker Squad launch last night with six members of the 56 strong squad coming from Queen’s Park.

Dean Turnley, Jai Sheahan, Jamie Harrison, Alex Carr, Tom Jefferies and Darcy Del Rio will enjoy specialist coaching from some of the best junior coaches in the State over the coming weeks.

After an address by Geelong captain-coach Damian Shanahan, this year’s Bakker squad members were presented with their training shirts at Skilled Stadium last night by Victorian Bushrangers batsman Aaron Finch. Finch then told the region’s best young cricketers how their career can benefit from the Geelong Cricket Club program.

The squad is named after former Victorian all-rounder Jason Bakker, a stalwart of the Geelong Cricket Club. About 70 young cricketers from the Barwon region have been invited to participate in specialist coaching sessions during July and August.

The players, aged between 13 and 17, have been put into specialist groups batting, pace bowling, spinners and wicketkeeping and will learn from leading coaches from Cricket Victoria and the Geelong Cricket Club. Finch, who started his cricket career at Colac West, said development programs like the Bakker Squad had helped to fast-track his development as they provided him with access to excellent coaching.

Regional cricket manager Bruce Nunn said being part of the squad was a great opportunity to gain exposure to the best specialist coaching and the latest technology. “The program aims to identify player strengths and weaknesses,” Nunn said.

Spin bowlers; Andrew Casey, Lachlan Crook, Kal Dubbledam, Chris McKay, Hugh Maloney, Jack Rodgers, Sam Schaller, Tom Treble, Dean Turnley, Brendon Wray
Pace bowlers; Alex Carr, James Colman, Scott Condy, Andre Delorenzo, Matthew Elliot, Jason Grozdanovski, Jamie Harrison, Reece Illig, Cameron Johnston, Nick Lynch, Dylan McFarlane, Dom McGlinchey, Tom Quinlan, Jai Sheahan, Tom Stewart, Matthew Tarbutt, Josh Vagg, Tim Wight

Batters; Meyrick Buchanan, Michael Condy, Darcy Del Rio, Shane Dillion, Dane McFarlane, Luke Ford, Jack Wood, Dylan Flanigan, Alex Hickey, Jake Ibbs, Tom Jefferies, Dylan McMahon, Hayden McMahon, Daniel Maclean, Tom Mathieson, Jane Neil, Liam Phillips, Mitch Reid, Patrick Richards, Blake Troy, Eamonn Vines

Wicket keepers; Nicholas Dixon, Scott Dixon, Riley Ferguson, Jarryd Garner, Liam McGuane, David Peel


Victorian Bushrangers batsman Aaron Finch presents Bakker squad members, from left, Jack Rodgers, Tom Quinlan, Jarryd Garner and Nick Dixon with their training shirts.Photo: ALISON WYND

by Bradley Green courtesy of the Geelong Advertiser